PC Peripherals CPU unit for a Music Composer.. Opteron 170?

100khz

Disciple
hey guys,

I need ur suggestions.. i am a music composer.. got my own studio.. need to buy a high end cpu i.e. Processor, Mobo, 1 gb ram(later 1 more gb), cabinet.. I wanna run high end music softs (MIDI n recording) basically.. these softs r CPU hogs n require great floating point performance.. also clock speed is most wanted by few of these softs.. many can utilize both the cores of a dual core but few only use one core.. i shall also be multi tasking a lot.. so the remedy is Over Clocking. for this i will need a PSU n HS fan...

My budget is around 35k for CPU n mobo n ram n cabinet.. so it will be best if u guys can suggest me a bit.. i was keen on buying a Dual core opteron 170 with an A8NSLI premium mobo.. 512 DDR X 2 (as for now, later i will go for 512 X 2 more) .. all this just fits in 35 k..

but u may come with an altogether different solution.. also plz suggest me for OC purpose.. wat fan, its cfm, speed company etc.. 2) PSU.. for oc say opteron 170.. or watever.. n to what extend i can oc say an opteron 170 2ghz on air with a 10x multiplier... i guess opteron 175 is 11 x..

i guess i have said much now.. i will wait eagerly for ur suggestionss. i'll buy from nehru place.. i live in delhi..

Aks

^^ What sorta stuff do you use.

Amongst the best sequencers are Ableton's Live and Apple's Logic with the latter now becoming the number 1.

If I were you, I'd have gone for a Mac eyes shut as almost every top music composition software has a Mac version, and many don't have windows alternatives (Like Logic)...

Anish said:
^^

Amongst the best sequencers are Ableton's Live and Apple's Logic with the latter now becoming the number 1.

If I were you, I'd have gone for a Mac eyes shut as almost every top music composition software has a Mac version, and many don't have windows alternatives (Like Logic)...