Buying MacBook Pro makes sense?

cyberboy_varad

Disciple
Hi Guys,

My desktop is already near to Apocalypse. I've already worked enough with desktop and so I'm thinking to switch over a notebook.

What's your Budget?

60k-70k

What will be your primary usage for the notebook be?

Blogging, Surfing, 24/7 Downloading, Movies at 1080p via HDMI to LED, Photoshop, Other productivity work.

What size and weight considerations do you have?

13"

Any brand that you prefer, or any brand that you detest?

Apple MacBook Pro

Any other considerations?

Decent battery life, portable.

On Windows I faced lots of virus problems which even ended up loosing my data. I'm completely fed up with the monthly formatting and that is the reason I'm switching to Mac OS X.

I'm totally new to the OS. Don't know much about it. I will need time to learn about the new user interface. What do you think, is it a right buy for me? Also I'll be buying it in May after the refreshed versions with Ivy Bridge comes out.

Since I have decent budget. Should I splurge it on MacBook or get a Windows Based Laptop?

Yes! Since I'll be buying it in May-June. Surely I'll get the Ivy Bridge powered model. BTW, will Ivy Bridge bring considerable increase in the performance?

Since playing games is not one of your requirements & you are fedup with windows, Macbook Pro makes perfect sense, if you can ignore the higher price tag.

so, I would say go for it now or wait some time for ivvy refresh

No point waiting for ivy. No point except you game ESP using the onboard 4000 chipset intel. SB is nearly as good, a new chip launches every year, you can't wait 2-3 months for a little better performance. Had it been haswell I would have said the same but not for ivy

Even if I don't consider Ivy, reports say the new MBP will have slim profile like MacBook Air. This is the reason for my wait. So does that mean Ivy will bring increase in the performance only for gaming?