[URGENT] Need to buy a wifi router tomorrow

n3nimbus

Disciple
Hello,

So, yes, judging my the title I need to purchase a Wifi Router for my home tomorrow and I need help

A few details and requirements:

Home: 3 BHK - 1500 sq ft - Mumbai

ISP: Local cable net (Intech) - 4 mbps unltd

Devices: PC (will connect via RJ45), 3-4 cellphones and a Wii U

Requirement: My PC is in one corner of the room. There is a small passage which connects to the hall. The passage has the doors to all the three rooms on both its sides with my room being at the end. The wifi must reach the hall mainly so that I can connect to the Wii U.

I have no experience or much info in routers and my cable guy is probably gonna come and configure it at my home so that the internet connects to the PC. To get it running on thr Wii U etc is obviously going to be my lookout as he won't care as long as the net is running

Going through flipkart I landed with 6 choices:

(Price high to low)

1. Asus RT-N56U - INR 7050
2. Netgear WNDR4300 N750 - INR 7000
3. Netgear WNDR3700 V4 - INR 5650
4. Belkin Play Max - INR 5400
5. Asus RT-N53 - INR 5200
6. Netgear WNDR3400 N600 - INR 3350

I practically don't need stuff like parental control, torrent genie, etc. All I need is for everything to run at smooth speeds of 4 mbps, no packet loss, no net disconnection and connectivity to my Wii U and the complete house.
So, do I need to purchase a high-end router worth 7k or will the 3.5k one suffice? Please suggest if you have any other alternatives as well to the above if you think they are better.

Last edited:
Whats the distance from your PC (where I assume the cable connection enters) to the hall? And how many walls in between? Can you run a CAT5 cable from your room to the hall?

Last edited:
Whats the distance from your PC (where I assume the cable connection enters) to the hall? And how many walls in between? Can you run a CAT5 cable from your room to the hall?