Linux [Ubuntu 9.10] Booting issue related to display

Hey guys..I am new to Linux...installed Ubuntu 9.10 on my desktop, dual boot with Windows XP...have Nvidia 7950GT graphic card for display...initially it booted normally and display was also fine, but then I wanted to use 'Extra Effects' in Visual Settings, for which I was asked to download/enable some nvidia related setting or file...which I did..then I was prompted to reboot for changes to take place, but since then every time time i try to boot into Ubuntu, the white colored ubuntu logo shows up and then nothing after that...screen remains black..I went into recovery mode but had no clue about what to do there...
So help me fix this issue guys..

once you get into recovery console, do:

Code:
cd /etc/X11

sudo mv xorg.conf xorg.conf.mybackup

Then reboot, you should at least have your basic windows back...

Now check which version of driver you have installed there are different versions and I think for your slightly older card model you need older driver .... good luck

thanks for the reply but I reinstalled Ubuntu...I tried installing nvidia drivers with different method but failed nd resulted in another booting issue, when I used to select ubuntu from the boot menu it would take me into tty1 instead of normal graphical OS....tried a few things dint work, so reinstalled the OS again...have many more doubts related to the OS..

the latest version of this OS has issues. Use an older version of Ubuntu, you will be just fine.

use 9.04 and update it. its good, stable. i am using it.

i have downloaded 9.10 but after reading comments here, i havnt upgraded yet.

k..will try that out..hope it makes life easier for me..

Installed Ubuntu 9.04 and things are going smooth so far...but still have one issue...

I am not able to create new file or folder in the File System, thats the Ubuntu partition...according to the error I do not have the permission to do so. Wanted ur advice as to how can I get around it?