Laptops Is MBP 13.3 VFM ?

viridian

Disciple
Hello Mac users of TE. I am tired of the PC/Linux/Windows scene owing to some frightful experiences. I have never used a Mac before (well, except in a VM) and based on a Yammer poll at work, a Mac is perhaps the best thing to get. I'm seriously considering it, but I don't think I can splurge that much on the 15incher MBP. So I'm considering the 13.3 MBP which sounds decent enough. My requirements are very basic, I occasionally play old games like AoE or Warcraft and have no real need for HD video or graphics heavy applications. It would be nice to do some basic video editing which I think is a given anyway.

What would you say? Get the 13.3 or save to get the 15 incher or _gulp_ the 17incher?

If your requirements are basic, then just go for 13" model.... or even 13" MacBook instead of Pro. I don't see any need to spend extra cash if you're not going to utilize it.

WAIT!!!

Apple is currently updating the online pages. WHich means a new h/w is coming up. am sure that they are going to put on core ix series laptops now.

Just wait for these.

viridian said:
Well..er..the unibody looks very sexy :) Hence I'm looking to get the MBP
The new Macbook is a unibody design as well...not cast out of aluminium though, but the new white Macbook does look sexy too..

desiibond said:
WAIT!!!

Apple is currently updating the online pages. WHich means a new h/w is coming up. am sure that they are going to put on core ix series laptops now.

Just wait for these.
Heard the same...came across a Youtube video, was a Macbook review, where the guy talks about Apple planning to upgrade its Macbook and Macbook Pro to Core ix series...

disappointed that they just updated Aperture tool. no h/w updates yet.

now, if you can wait, better wait for macbook pro that has core ix series processors as the current core2duo models are fast becoming obsolete and makes no sense in putting 75k+ on it when you can get the same config for 30k in pc segment.