Other Is it sensible to daily a Graphene OS device in India?

vindal

Disciple
Hi TE!
I have been using a OnePlus 8 Pro since June 2020 and I couldn't be more satisfied with a mobile device. However, it is getting old now and sometime soon, it will stop getting updates. GrapheneOS has been on my mind for some time and I want to ask if anyone has been using it as their daily driver's OS? Even if you have used it in the past, would you recommend it?

Things that matter to me-
  • Mobile gaming - Nope
  • Music - yes (YT Music, Apple Music)
  • Texting - yes (signal, WhatsApp)
  • Camera - yes (GCam, OnePlus default, Hypocam)
  • Android Auto - yes (not critical but a good to have)
  • Banking and UPI - yes (HDFC app, cred, GPay, PhonePay, Paytm)
  • Maps - yes (Google maps)
  • Mailing - yes (Gmail, proton mail)
  • Entertainment - yes (hotstar, prime video, sony liv)
  • Others - Zerodha

I want to try using the OS but spending around 20k (Pixel 6A) on a trial doesn't seem a great idea to me.

And why are you looking at GrapheneOS in the first place ? It is meant for very specific use cases and your purpose does not appears to be one of those.
Please read up on GrapheneOS.

GrapheneOS is very privacy oriented. While there are workarounds to get a lot of apps working, especially ones that need Google Play Services, unless you're doing this to be more in control of your data, I don't see much of a reason to install this
If it's performance you need, Lineage OS is quite standard ( I'm using it right now ) and don't have any issues. XDA Developers is the hub for all custom ROMs, see which best suites your device

Even if you need Graphene OS, it has the same support as what Google provides for the Pixel. Note that it will not run apps deeply embedded with Google Play Service like GPay, so you should be willing to sacrifice the convenience of most Google apps in lieu of privacy.