Laptops Importing a Laptop!

deadlyvenom

Disciple
hello everybody
i'll be going to malaysia soon and I'm planning to buy a laptop there and bring it back with me to India.
what I wanna know is,am I gonna have to pay any import duty for the laptop?
please keep in mind I'm an Indian resident going abroad on a 4 day vacation.
has anyone tried this before?
please help me out here asap coz I'll be leaving tomorrow evening.
Thank You

Plz Do Check abt Warranty.. is tht Warranty Will be valid in India .

Also note if any 1 provide u on-site warranty there in malasiya that on site warranty will not be valid in india . u will have to go to their service center for any problem

Most of them provide International warranties..

ACER

I know for sure that SONY and APPLE provide international warranties..

basically, if u have a genuine proof of purchase from an authorized reseller/distributor, the you can always get the warranty claim at a local reseller or the company..

Apple provides international, Sony, I doubt it, But Guptaji is sure he says, maybe policies have changed.

Dell provides international 100%, and bringing one lap top along with you, is offically duty free. It has been for a few years now.

sony does give international warranty for some models, not sure if for all. + u might have to pay something extra, but yes, they do give it :)

buddy.. in dell it will only be international (in other words valid in india) if its onsite warranty initially.. or else it wont be valid here.. an ul be stuck here like i once was.

So jus check on tat if ur going in for dell!

Acer is international warranty too, and we've availed of it for a friend in India without any issues. Best is to ask, and we got this from a small hole-in-the-wall shop in KL. They will tell you upfront if there is international warranty or not.

I just bought a Dell Inspiron 1420 from Malaysia yesterday.
The config is as follows: