[Help] Networking Belkin wireless G router with Laptop and PC

bodmas

Adept
Friends,
I am using Belkin wireless G router for Tata indicom Wimax broadband connection. Internet is running absolutly fine with Desktop and laptop.
Q: Is it possible to network Laptop with desktop while internet connection is working. I mean if i change ip address to network both then the internet will not work. I am using laptop with wifi and desktop with RJ45 cable.
Thanks.

ur wifi router has a local access ip...mostly 192.168.0.1 or whatever it is. Assign your desktop a static ip of 192.168.0.2 and laptop 192.168.0.3 or in the same series as ur wifi router. then u are good to go , even when internet is on you will be able to access all the shares on either.

Hi TTM,

What IPs should i assign to TCP/IP settings as my router ip address is 192.168.2.1. Please guide me briefly as i am new to networking.

Desktop:

IP address:

Subnet mask:

default gateway:

And for laptop

IP address:

Subnet mask:

Default gateway:

Easy way out enable DHCP server in the wifi router and set the IP address range and you are done.
Leave your desktop and notebook on auto config for the IP.

DHCP server is already enabled and What IPs should i assign to TCP/IP settings as my router ip address is 192.168.2.1. Please guide me briefly as i am new to networking.

Desktop:

IP address:

Subnet mask:

default gateway:

And for laptop

IP address:

Subnet mask:

Default gateway:

Go to command prompt on both the system and type the following
ipconfig
and paste the output here....
Note :- Run the command while both the machines are connected to the router.

Friends,
I have assigned following IPs and here are the results:
Desktop:
IP address: 192.168.2.3
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
default gateway: 192.168.2.1

And for laptop
IP address: 192.168.2.2
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default gateway: 192.168.2.1

Following is the result:
1) After assigning IP to laptop, we are getting the following result: