Storage Solutions HDD trouble.

Fakepunk

Disciple
I have a 2 day old seagate7200.7 160gig SATA and when I run HDD inspector
it tells me that its probably gonna conk out by by the 11th of this month(Its got a logging feature)
The figures it gives me are as such
Raw read error rate : 57
Spin up time : 97
Seek error rate : 60
Hardware ECC covered : 58

Now I'm no HDD expert, but some of those look bad(if not very bad).
These figures are corroborated by Speedfan also, which shows the HDD fitness level at half a bar.

It also heats up like hell, right now its at 46 deg, but its the hottest component of my computer to touch .

I have the same HDD

My figures. 42 degrees.

Seek Error Rate 61
Raw Read Error Rate 56
Spin up time 96
Hardware ECC covered 56

If you look at the threshold figures in HD Inspector under each it doesn't seem so bad...

astrix said:
What should HDD temps be like, BTW?

I had 4 drives die on me in the last year. :( Never had a drive die before this. I dont think it is the fault of my Antec True 480 PSU or heat - I have had HDD temp in the region of 35C - 43C. But these 4 drives death made me absolutely paranoid about HDD temps and I have my drives sandwitched between 2 120mm fans and now I get drive temps around 31 - 37C

I have spent a lot of time in various forums for an answer to your exact question and here are some I found from the "experts" on this topic.....

50C is about as hot as I'd like to get. Manufacturer specs say up to 55C, so that's probably safe.

I do know that relatively short run-times at more than 55C can and will cause drives to drop like flies.

While most drives can operate at temps up to around 50C, anything over 40 will dramatically reduce the life of the drive. Ideally, you would keep them around the normal body temp of 37C/98F, or less if possible.

as a very broad rule of thumb
Each 10°C (18°F) temperature rise reduces component life by 50%