GPU For StableDiffusion/LLMs/Moderate Gaming

Neotheone

Figuring stuff out
Adept
Hi People,

I am a bit of a novice with StableDiffusion/LLMs, but want to start off with it. I have a budget of up to INR 50K. Yet, my desktop configuration could be a bit of a constraint (I37100 + 16GB DDR4 + GIGABYTE H110M S2 CF)

In this context I am thinking of getting either an NVIDIA 3060TI 12GB , or a 406016GB (running it with a bottleneck for now with a plan to upgrade the CPU+MOBO+RAM combination somewhere down the line).

Any suggestions on whether I am thinking right ? Do any AMD alternatives match up ?

And lastly, in case I must upgrade now, can you suggest a low cost CPU+MOBO+RAM combination that would not bottleneck the 4060?

Thanks,
Neotheone

Stick to Nvidia for this use case, more VRAM the better but you've got your GPUs mixed.
There's no 12 GB variant of the 3060Ti and there's no 4060 16GB SKU either. There's a 3060 non TI variant that comes with 12GB and the base 4060 is limited to 8GB as well, only the 4060Ti comes in both 8 and 16GB variants.
As for a replacement in your budget, flip your old hardware and get a 13400F+B760M budget board, it'll cost you around 30k as a combo.
You can either splurge a bit more on a new GPU or buy a used 3060 12GB for 18-19k, that way you'll have your entire rig in 50k.

I was in a similar situation a few months ago & wanted to play around with SD. After doing some basic research, With SD/LLMs, Stick to NVIDIA because most of the time these are made with NVIDIA GPUs in mind utilizing their 'Cuda Cores'. Next thing is you need VRAM, the more the better. Don't even think 8GB because it will limit you, it will work but it will limit you. You have a good budget so maybe you can look into used 3090's due to their 24gb VRAM but I'm not sure if 50k will get you a 3090. If not looking to get used then I think the only options you are left with are 4060ti 16gb or 4070 12gb both of which cost around 50k-60k.