PC Peripherals Embarking on a new project: Setting up a VFM home theatre

superczar

Skilled
Folks, long since i started on a new tech project.

Am contemplating setting up a projector based home theatre based around my PC.

What I have:

AMD 2400 based PC

Geforce 6800 with DVI out

Benq 1640 DVD drive

5.1 homebrew amp with a LM3875 powered 10" subwoofer hooked to the PC onboard 5.1 snd card

Living room with controlled lighting and a recently acquired couch ;)

I'll be positioning the couch approx 10 feet from the screen and I doubt if I'll be able to mount the projector on the roof

What I need:

A projector (AM a total noob when it comes to projectors)

A screen

A TV Tuner (Don't plan to wtahc the TV much using the projector, but will surely be of use during matches)

Am planning to use my nokia 3230 as the remote over BT but if there are any decent remote modules (USB/Serial port based) available, plz suggest

Needless to say I will need to keep the budget under tight control ...Also, it may be difficult for you to suggest everything in one post so plz post any info that you feel will come handy.....

Also, does anyone has any experience with windows media center..should I give it a try or should I continue using my existing XP pro?

Detailed rig specs here

i am noob to the projector either but still i would advise one thing DLP projectors are the buzz words now a days and they offer good contrast ratio.

will research more and then come back here again.

screen : i do not have faintest idea.

tv tuner.
as per current scenario you have two options
pinnacle pctv plus with / without fm
compro tv mate pvr with / without fm
should cost you less than 2k

^^ too bulky...not to forget more xpensive....

actually That's akin to askin a Techie to buy a Dell PC instead of assembling one by self! ;)

does symbian have any mediaplayer controlling porgrams? I was waiting for FMA 2.0 to be released for symbian to support BT mediaplayer control.