Disillusioned with a Career in Advertising: What's Next?

zero_cool

Disciple
Hi everyone, I have been working in advertising since 2010. I make under 2 LPM but in six figures which is a decent pay, but in the last couple of years, I feel as if I have been awakened from the matrix of the advertising world and now see the real world that lies beyond. I have become increasingly disillusioned with work that only thrives on cajoling egos. Looking back, I realize I have given a lot to this industry: missed my cousin's wedding, my sister's birthday lunch, endured 84-hour work weeks, and eroded away my self-respect. The rewards often amount to more work, an appraisal, or an award or two, which nobody values. Heck, nobody even cares about ads nowadays; they're just a nuisance that people actively try to avoid. This begs the question: is it even worth it? When I reflect, I realize I have always been a misfit in this industry and have often sought change as a remedy for my frustration. But now, at 35, I have come to terms with the fact that I cannot find happiness in this work.
Here are some experiments I have meddled with:
  • Trying to learn C, but I often find it gets complicated fast, and I find myself lost at times. Still a work in progress.
  • CS50 (Another endeavor to up-skill, but I've been unable to move past Week 2).
  • Pursuing an MBA (I need to work on achieving a decent GMAT score and then invest a year or two for the degree).
  • Considering a data analytics-related job in the same industry by learning VBA, SQL, and Tableau. However, my pay might be a hindrance.