Buffalo G125 + Tomato Firmware problems

Checksum

Skilled
I've been using tomato on my g125 for the past six months. Of late, the transfer rate between the computer connected to lan and the laptop connected to wifi has been pathetic! I'm not even able to listen to streaming songs from the download rig :( . Even with the laptop right next to the router, with signal strength about 80%, the tx speeds remain very bad.

Using tomato version 1.21 now. I've tried re flashing a couple of times, tried DD-WRT, but no avail. What could be wrong?

Can you please confirm what the transfer speeds are like ? Try using Tera Copy and transfer a song or a 700MB movie or some other file and check average transfer speeds. Did the two of you try resetting the router ?

Well, copying a 5mb file takes around 45 seconds :( no way i can try a 700mb file!

Edit : @freaky, i've reset the router many times, tried a full nvram erase, tried other firmware. Still stays the same. Seems to me something is broken :(

Freaky said:
Can you please confirm what the transfer speeds are like ? Try using Tera Copy and transfer a song or a 700MB movie or some other file and check average transfer speeds. Did the two of you try resetting the router ?

tried a reset too

Checksum said:
Well, copying a 5mb file takes around 45 seconds :( no way i can try a 700mb file!

same here

Try changing your transmission channel. There might be someone else transmitting in the same frequency and causing interference. Find an unoccupied channel and switch your router to use that.

lol ok. Doesnt the tomato firmware display the curremtly occupied channels and the wifi networks that are using it? Just choose one thats empty.

The problems isn't that. Its with encryption. Choosing TKIP alone with WPA or WPA2 slows down the whole transmission. Setting it to AES or TKIP/AES works fine! Getting about 2.5mbps tx rate now :)