OC & Modding Are these temps ok? (Core i7)

alcy

Disciple
Hello folks, before I started doing some light OC, I wanted to make sure that my system was stable at stock settings, without any after market cooling devices.

I ran Mprime (the linux port of Prime95) for an hour without any issues. The temperatures were as follows:

Idle: CPU: 25-26
IOH: 64

Load: CPU: 84
IOH: 77

I know that IOH temps are high at idle (known issue among MSI Pro-E boards), but am getting an Antec Spot Cool fan to fix that.

However what I want to know is that at full load, isn't the CPU temp too high ? My system didn't crash, but since I am new to this subject, please let me know what you think. According to Intel, I read somewhere that the max temp is about 67.9 Celsius.

Also, is there a possibility of slightly OCing the system, say up to 3 GHz, with the stock cooler, or should I start saving for a good CPU cooler ?

you should seriously start saving for a GOOD cooler bro..

AFAIK i7's run hotter than other chips!! so as u have 84 ur load temp at stock.. , it will easily cross 90 at load at 3ghz at which u r planning to overclock.. i would suggest you not to take that risk and first buy a good VFM cooler if not an expensive one!!

if you are looking out for one, then CM Hyper 212+ is the thing to go with....

And ur temps are fine.. always consider 90 as the max limit for i7 in extreme conditions.. dont let it go above that!!

You should buy a good cooler if you want to overclock your cpu. 920 are hot chips. Until then reduce volts to something like 1.1V(default would be around 1.25) and test for stability with prime95. Temps should now be under control.If not increase volts a bit and repeat the process.

alcy said:
I know that IOH temps are high at idle (known issue among MSI Pro-E boards), but am getting an Antec Spot Cool fan to fix that.

asingh said:
@OP:

Which board..?

@asingh see above..