What to keep in mind before getting a fiber connection?

abmr2d2

Disciple
My BSNL ADSL connection has finally breathed its last. Was informed by the lineman that the copper cable has been damaged and it is very likely that the cable will not be repaired. I believe my ADSL connection/landline was the lonely holdout in our area. BSNL is converting its copper landline connections to fiber connections wherever feasible.

There are a couple of options before me:
1) Check with BSNL regarding the feasibility of a fiber connection FTTH to my home.​
OR​
2) Go with the local cablewalla who provides unlimited internet in the building through ethernet. Have heard that he might provide fiber to home too I think.​
No JIO/Airtel fiber connection in my area.

This is my first time getting a fiber connection. What questions should I ask regarding a fiber connection to the provider and what should I do/ensure when getting a fiber connection?
My usage is fairly typical Netflix/YouTube, browsing, zoom/Google meet calls, VPN/TOR usage, downloading via torrents etc. I have one router and one ADSL modem/router which provide Wi-Fi and ethernet connections. There are around 10-12 devices (which include SBCs, NAS, mobiles, PCs which connect to the access points

Some questions which come to mind are
1) Is the connection truly unlimited? What is the FUP limit?​
2) What kind of on premises equipment will be supplied?​
3) Will I be given admin access to the on premises equipment?​
4) Will the internet be interrupted when power fails? ADSL used to work even in case of power failure.​

Has someone taken a BSNL FTTH connection? Do I need to pay for laying the optical fiber cable to my premises in case of BSNL? the ADSL line men talked about paying cash to the installation guys but I had read somewhere that all the charges get adjusted in the first bill. Can some who has taken a BSNL fiber connection share their experience.