iOS Clicks - Keyboard for iPhone

KAKAN

Disciple
What do you guys think about Clicks?

MrMobile made a video about it.

It's kind of weird to me that it starts from $139, a price range where you can buy a 65% Keychron mech keyboard, _and_ stuff like the Pinephone Keyboard. The latter is not exactly comparable, since its more like a mini-keyboard stuck into a mini-sized case, but I still feel like $139 is a lot for something that you can't use beyond a single generation of a device. Maybe if it was modular, and you could take out the keyboard from the case for easy upgradibility or something, the price could be justified?

Before it starts sounding like a rant, I'll just say that I love physical keyboards, and have used Blackberrys in the past, and I love them still.

While searching a bit more, I found two more alternatives:

The latter can be bought on AliExpress, which... I have no experience with, tbh :p

That being said, does anyone else know any other custom keyboard project? I'd love to DIY one and the Fairberry looks the closest to what I could realistically hope to achieve (need to find a replacement keyboard though lol)

That being said, I think one of the people involved in Clicks also developed the Typo keyboard, which got sued to death by Blackberry iirc

I don't understand why there is a need for a physical keyboard. BB was cool when it was launched, but sadly the tech is now old-school and kind of obsolete. This is a move to just milk the hype among the fanboys, who show off for the sake of being cool and churn out more money.

I don't understand why there is a need for a physical keyboard. BB was cool when it was launched, but sadly the tech is now old-school and kind of obsolete. This is a move to just milk the hype among the fanboys, who show off for the sake of being cool and churn out more money.
It's fun!
And nostalgic, for some.