Railwire Broadband

Discussion in 'Telecom and Internet Service Providers' started by meetdilip, May 2, 2017.

  1. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    Anyone using Railwire here ? Where do you live ?
     
  2. TigerKing

    TigerKing Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yep. Whenever I travel, near station.
    I don't sit on platform for hours, just to use RailWire..
     
    PHOENiX117 likes this.
  3. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    You are joking, right ? Railwire serves a wider audience. Not just Railways platforms.
     
    kippu likes this.
  4. TigerKing

    TigerKing Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Meaning?
     
    PHOENiX117 likes this.
  5. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    Railwire is a local ISP. They serve even villages and B class towns.
     
    PHOENiX117 likes this.
  6. veera_champ

    veera_champ Well-Known Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    229
    Yes I am using it
    1mbps @550/-
     
    #6 veera_champ, May 2, 2017
    Last edited: May 2, 2017
  7. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    Where do you live ? What's the MTU value you have set ?
     
  8. veera_champ

    veera_champ Well-Known Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    229
    as u said its B class town in Andhra Pradesh and my MTU value is 1462
     
    meetdilip likes this.
  9. TigerKing

    TigerKing Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I thought it's google's project for Railway.
    I found their site..
    http://www.railwire.co.in/

    As per their prices, they are very similar to BSNL and MTNL pricing and plans.
     
  10. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    Certainly not. Their new anti Jio plans are as good as ACT plans.
     
  11. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    Not just Railways. :)
     
  12. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    I see :)

    I was facing low speed issues. Was told to try 1490 as MTU value by the LCO's tech support. I am still reeling with low speed issues, sadly.
     
  13. veera_champ

    veera_champ Well-Known Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    229
    Yup, they offered me 10mbps line @900bucks
    Try ping test, it will helps u
     
    #13 veera_champ, May 3, 2017
    Last edited: May 3, 2017
    meetdilip likes this.
  14. TigerKing

    TigerKing Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nope..
    I use MTNL net, and they have similar plans..
     
  15. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    20 Mbps for less than ₹ 1,000 ?
     
  16. tapankunu

    tapankunu New Member
    Recruit

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Speed is good but it disconnects every now and then.
     
  17. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am currently haunted with low speed problem since around 5 PM. 0.8 - 0.01 Mbps ? God knows what's happening.
     
  18. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    That's something for you LCO to handle. Other than slow speed, my connection is very smooth. Awesome pings of 40 mS and so on.
     
  19. vivek.krishnan

    vivek.krishnan Error Code 451
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    970
    We have taken Railwire services for our guesthouse in Hosur. However, I feel the services are too expensive. Maybe there is a lack of competition, but I would prefer getting 2 of the Jio SIMs and do load balancing.

    Some 10 Mbps upto 60GB and then 1 Mbps or something. 1K monthly.

    I pay for 10 Mbps UL in Mumbai @ 9K yearly.
     
    TigerKing likes this.
  20. meetdilip

    meetdilip Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8
    Unless you live in the fleshy area of a tier one city, your options are very limited.
     

Share This Page