Car & Bike Please suggest family hatchback under 5L

vigilante

Adept
First time car buyer looking for a petrol hatchback for a small family for city driving.

Purpose – Weekend drives in city (Pune – 20km), sometimes to office (15-20km) and occasional trips to surrounding locations (100-200 km).
Drivers – Me and my wife. Although we learnt driving some years back consider us complete novices since we have no experience of driving in traffic.
Passengers – 2 + 1toddler. Parents visit occasionally. No one is heavily built.
Budget – Max 5L. 1L down payment. And rest EMI (I already have a home loan).
Cars considered – Hyundai i10 Magna, Wagon R vxi. Would prefer a Hyundai/Maruti because of ease/cost of service/parts.
Please give other suggestions and things to consider.
How much sense would it make to stretch the budget for Grand i10 or Swift? (This would mean I’ll be increasing the loan or postpone the car for 2-3 months).

I would have said get a second hand but, considering cash constraint thats completely ruled out??

I give huge emphasis to the actual cabin space. Considering that and overall performance, the honda Brio is a clear winner here. Im not sure that it will fit in 5L.

Maruti Ritz? renault kwid? Celerio? mahindra tuv100?

Your budget is a bit tight bro. Increase a lac and you can get yourself a proper hatchback. i.e swift, figo, i20, zica etc

I would have said get a second hand but, considering cash constraint thats completely ruled out??
I'm a bit averse to buy a used one, since I plan to use this for 3-4 years. But still I am on the lookout and if I find some 2014 model that's not driven much, I can give that a shot.
I give huge emphasis to the actual cabin space. Considering that and overall performance, the honda Brio is a clear winner here. Im not sure that it will fit in 5L.
Maruti Ritz? renault kwid? Celerio? mahindra tuv100?