Moving away from gmail (or other free webmail services)

dpandey

Adept
I have been using gmail for almost ten years and have been quite happy. However, as I have gotten older, the privacy issues have started to worry me. After some search, I bought a subscription to fastmail but their password recovery requires that I have another e-mail id, which kind of defeats the purpose (Gmail allows password recovery via cellphone.)

I was wondering if any of you have moved away from ad-supported webmail. If yes, how has the experience been?

Bought my own domain, happily used by the entire family, including the extended family. Side benefit name@surname.com for everyone, plus aliases.
How do you manage security? Like some script kiddies trying to force their way into your system? What server side software do you use for sending and retrieving the files? How much do you spend every year on the domain and server space?

How do you manage security? Like some script kiddies trying to force their way into your system? What server side software do you use for sending and retrieving the files? How much do you spend every year on the domain and server space?
Brand name email server used, security and 2fa in their contract.
Spend is more than most would be willing to, but we find it to be worth it. Approx costs will be 4-5k per mailbox when spread across a large family.

Bought my own domain, happily used by the entire family, including the extended family. Side benefit name@surname.com for everyone, plus aliases.
Right now I have the same setup. I registered my lastname.org. but i havnt setup any mail server or anything as of now but I am planning to do so. so right now godaddy simply forwards my mails to my gmail account. but I am planning to setup my mail/web etc servers on my own. coming to the costs. some 80 dollars for few domain names for 3 years. and I have to plan the server space which I am lazy at this point.