Linux Linux Mint on Netbook

prabs

Skilled
I am new to Linux. I decided to give my old netbook a new lease of life so I installed Linux Mint 18.3 XFCE on it.

Though it appears to be faster than Windows 7 Starter Edition youtube videos at 480 still struggle. I also want to activate the function keys so that I can press Fn + Up/Down to increase brightness, Fn + Rght/Left to increase decrease volume etc.,

Please advice.

Current linux releases must be based on 16.04 ubuntu.

I might be mistaken but I think I read some older netbooks might not have good linux kernel support for graphics/video or things like keyboard function keys.

Try downloading and installing the latest beta of the upcoming 18.04 xubuntu to see if a newer kernel works better.

I might be mistaken but I think I read some older netbooks might not have good linux kernel support for graphics/video or things like keyboard function keys.

Try downloading and installing the latest beta of the upcoming 18.04 xubuntu to see if a newer kernel works better.
Will make a usb boot stick and try it out.
what is the config of the netbook?
A very powerful configuration that consists of -
Intel Atom 450
2 GB RAM
320 GB HDD

My advice is to download linux mint 17.2 xfce and use that. It is better suited for low cpu and memory systems and systems that have old gen gpus on them.
I've used both 17.1/2/3 and 18.3 and feel 18.3 is too laggy and slow compared to 17.x versions. They changed something in it and put flatpak etc and xfce is not as stable as it was in 17.x.

My advice is to download linux mint 17.2 xfce and use that. It is better suited for low cpu and memory systems and systems that have old gen gpus on them.
I've used both 17.1/2/3 and 18.3 and feel 18.3 is too laggy and slow compared to 17.x versions. They changed something in it and put flatpak etc and xfce is not as stable as it was in 17.x.

Yesterday I did a microcode update for the processor and then an upgrade.