Budget 31-40k Laptop vs Desktop for writing code 10 hours day

arnuld

Disciple
I have been using desktop computers since the beginning, when laptops where "thing of the riches" and even today when every college students carries a laptop than having a desktop. I understand it got lot of mobility. I am thinking of whether to build a new desktop or buy a laptop. There are few points: 1st, For the same price, you can build a better desktop than a laptop.

2nd, I am a programmer, I spend almost 15 hours a dat in front of my desktop. Writing code 5-6 hours a day, sometimes 10 hours, add to that browsing, reading, searching, PDFs, text files etc all time is spent mostly in Firefox. I watch HD videos on YouTube, related to software and sometimes an FHD movie. And I feel quite comfortable whole day in computer chair. I can do all this work very fast and quite efficiently.

Desktop does take a lot of space and has no portability/mobility. I am thinking of getting a laptop but I want to know if you have used both desktop and laptop and can do all of that I mentioned above with same level of comfort and speed and efficiency.

I also still use a desktop, though I don't game now a days.
Though I own a laptop, but I don't find using that comfortable enough - the posture, the keyboard, screen is too close to the keyboard etc etc.
I feel more comfortable typing in a discrete keyboard than a laptop keyboard. Plus the bigger screen (than a laptop)

For your case, if you work for 10+ hours, I would definitely recommend desktop. Or at least Laptop+ KB + extra Monitor combo, so that you can keep desktop like posture while working.

Laptop is only for mobility. Convenience is desktop. However, not sure about the young generation now as they are more used to laptops.

If you feel a laptop will do the trick, just borrow one from friends and try. For the posture/screen, you will need to get a laptop stand which is adjustable, but you will have a fair idea...