Internet sharing in LAN

Discussion in 'World Wide Web' started by bluediamond, Apr 22, 2005.

  1. bluediamond

    bluediamond Well-Known Member
    Adept

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    33
    The two systems connected in LAN have win2k pro as OS. System A has a broadband connection and a cable modem along with it. The second system B is connected to A through a local area connection. To enable internet in both systems, i did the follo.

    1. enabled internet sharing in the properties of broadband connection. It gave a notice tat system is set to a particular ip 192.168.0.1

    2. kept the client's(system B) ip to obtain automatically as given in the notice..

    Still the system B is not getting internet..:huh: wat could be wrong!
     
  2. Deus Ex Machina

    Deus Ex Machina Active Member
    Adept

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hehe! Join the group.
     
  3. Switch

    Switch Well-Known Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,757
    Likes Received:
    333
    Again

    System one IP Address

    192.168.0.1
    Internet connection shareing to be enabled
    System two Ip Address
    192.168.0.2
    Default gateway
    192.168.0.1

    Should work now...
     
  4. bluediamond

    bluediamond Well-Known Member
    Adept

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    33
    wat switch.. i told u the first system, when u enable internet sharing, is automatically set to that ip, but it also says tat second system ip shud be set automatically..

    thanks tb for sharing links
     
  5. bluediamond

    bluediamond Well-Known Member
    Adept

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    33
    wow..4 threads(by TB) and still no soln. withot using proxy! :(
     
  6. Deus Ex Machina

    Deus Ex Machina Active Member
    Adept

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    8
    And some places else...i have been suggested buying a router. :S
     
  7. KingKrool

    KingKrool New Member
    Adept

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,576
    Likes Received:
    71
    I bought a router (wireless - cos I had a laptop).
    Easy solution to all problems, let me tell you.
    I think WinProxy (is that its name?) will do the job.
     
  8. Switch

    Switch Well-Known Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,757
    Likes Received:
    333
    I dont know about you guys but i do it all the time at my place when i take my second PC from my office to my home... It works... I think next time i do it i will write down steps... And trust me for two pc's you dont need a router at all...
     
  9. Count_Down

    Count_Down New Member
    Disciple

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bluediamond, are you using a crossover cable? To connect two PCs without a hub/router you'll need a crossover cable. Also check the firewall settings.

    BTW, I use router as I connect upto 4 PCs sometimes, both wired and wireless. No problems setting up internet sharing. But I had no problems with ICS also.
     
  10. bluediamond

    bluediamond Well-Known Member
    Adept

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    33
    i use such cables.. well another difference is one contains win 2k pro sp2 and other contains win 2k pro with sp4 does sp4 make a difference..i tried to install sp4 in my system too(sys A) but uninstalled as i was not gettign net..( i think so..not sure..else why wud i just have sp2! )
     
  11. superczar

    superczar Well-Known Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,333
    Likes Received:
    357
    Are you using the dreaded 24online authentication software for your broadband connection?
    If yes, plz post so that I can give you the detailed solution
     

Share This Page