Wi-Fi dongle & internet sharing

himadri_sm

Disciple
i have a reliance 1mbps unlimited connection. i have to login to access the internet.the login stays for 24 hrs.i want to share this connection between two PC's...my own desktop & a laptop...the laptop has Wi- Fi in it..can i buy a Wi- Fi dongle & then share the network connection? is it possible?if so please tell me how?

Yes. you can share the connection. Just buy any USB or PCi based Wi-Fi Dongle/Card.

Enable ICS on your reliance connection.

Mention your OS for step by step configuration.

Thanx.

cisco_tech said:
Yes. you can share the connection. Just buy any USB or PCi based Wi-Fi Dongle/Card.
Enable ICS on your reliance connection.
Mention your OS for step by step configuration.
Thanx.

my OS is windows XP Sp3...does the laptop also need the same OS? it currently has XP Sp2.

cisco_tech said:
Doesn't matter. ICS will work on both OS.

thanx for replying. but what exactly is ICS? i am a noob in these matters so i don't know the jargons. also how should i configure the connection? some questions-
1.if i use a dongle how will the network speeds be divided?since i have an 1mbps connection will it be divided into 512kbps each?
2. if i have some downloads(torrents, direct downloads etc) going on in my PC will it affect the browsing speed in my laptop at the same time?

ICS stands for Internet Connection Sharing.

1)Nope. Speed will not be divided. but you can use some bandwidth limited software to shape youe requirement on interface. i.e. Netlimter , Traffic Shaper.

2)yes. torrents will affect browsing.

cisco_tech said:
ICS stands for Internet Connection Sharing.
1)Nope. Speed will not be divided. but you can use some bandwidth limited software to shape youe requirement on interface. i.e. Netlimter , Traffic Shaper.
2)yes. torrents will affect browsing.