Linux Want to be a UNIX expert. Please guide

Hello experts,
I am an experienced programmer in C++ on windows. I want to switch to UNIX/Linux operating system environment. How can I do this? Is it okey if I install Linux on my Windows PC and learn? Will this make me very good to crack UNIX interviews?
Please help me.
And let me know how much time will take for me to get a good grip on UNIX/LINUS programming environment?

buy the latest edition of Linux bible, good for a start, and install any *nix based OS. this is all you need.

Yup, first of all install Linux, there is no course which can help you learn better than use it regularly.

Join the respective forums of your distro, read wiki's or refer books if needed, and in some time you'll learn how to manage your OS(basics and some intermediate things).

Now buy a Linux Programming book or refer to net, because programming in linux has little difference to that of windows, like debugging and few other features.

As you are an experienced C++ programmer, you'll find Qt best and your way to go. :)

Enjoy Linux :D Or if you can't then read my siggy :p

PS : You'll need patience and DIY mentality to be build up, because everything won't be spoon feeded to you and you need to read manuals and wiki's to make your way out, sometimes IRC guys and forum guys may get angry on you, but be patient and don't loose hope, you'll succeed at the end. [Personal Experience]

anandkrishnantc said:
Hello experts,

I am an experienced programmer in C++ on windows.

Try hanging on comp.lang.c++ for a while and the ask yourself how much experienced C++ programmer you are :bleh:

anandkrishnantc said:
I want to switch to UNIX/Linux operating system environment. How can I do this? Is it okey if I install Linux on my Windows PC and learn? Will this make me very good to crack UNIX interviews?

Please help me.

And let me know how much time will take for me to get a good grip on UNIX/LINUS programming environment?