laptop buying advice

hello everyone...well i need to buy a laptop..please advice me sincerely with all the pros and cons and other models of my range if u feel will be good..list all the pros and cons whatever you feel....

i am an engg student.basic work includes games(just light ones like counter strike,nfs,etc etc..not professional ones),movies,songs,internet,social networking..also some engg software like matlab,etc etc..my dad will also use the laptop so tally also...
my range is between 25k-34k...not a single penny above that....

i have selected two models on my end...one is

1) HP Pavilion G6-2005AX Laptop AMD A8 Quad Core/4GB RAM/500GB HDD/Win 7 Home Basic/1GB Graphics.....its price is 33,300.....

2) ASUS K53SD i3/4gb ram/ 500 gb hdd/ original DOS / 2G nvidia graphics card..price is approx 31k...

so now my query is please advice me the best one......
2) is AMD QUAD CORE PROCESSOR BETTER THAN i3 intel...???? how come it is better???? i dnt have knowledge about AMD processors....its quad core,so wont it produce a lot of heat??? moreover in india maximum people trust intel....so how will you compare between AMD and intel??? please advice in detail....

also let me know that what all does maintainance includes of laptop and what will it actually cost me??? i want a least maintainable laptop i mean which requires less money for batter and charger and other repairs.....i heard that DELL battery original is worth 5k...?? so need some brand which has less cost of such things....

please reply to all the queries.

reply at the urgent....

thanking you all....
regards
rishabh kejriwal

2) is AMD QUAD CORE PROCESSOR BETTER THAN i3 intel...???? how come it is better????