Help Choose a modem/router for a newbie

iRobot

Recruit
I am looking for a modem with good range and torrent download facility.
I've shortlisted these modems by the recommendations of the forum members:
  • TP-LINK TD-W8968
  • TP-LINK TL-WR841N
  • TP-LINK TL-WR740N
  • D-Link DSL-2750U
These questions may sound naive to you, but please bear with me cause I've never used a wifi modem before o_O
  1. My home is old and has up-to 3-4 feet thick stone walls, will any of these modems work in this condition? I am hoping to get a range of ~30 feet away from the modem. Is that possible?
  2. Currently I use a Type 1 modem supplied by bsnl. Should I use this with the TP-LINK TL-WR841N or I should buy the TP-LINK TD-W8968 ? What are the pros/cons of using the either way?
  3. Why is the TP-LINK TL-WR740N router half the price of other ones? I see that this one is 150mbps but the max speed I can get from my ISP is 512kbps, so will that make much of a difference?
Any help will be greatly appreciated :)

1) D Link-2750 and TP Link w8968 are now coming with 5 dBi x 2 antennas.
Both will be good for your house and will suffice for your requirements. You only need to make sure you purchase the model with 5 dBi antennas.

2) Never used two diff devices for the wi fi set up. Maybe somebody else will answer this query.

Edit: The router model you suggested also has the 5 dBi antennas. So yes you can.
Whatever set up you choose, The antenna gain will matter here again.

3) TP-LINK TL-WR740N is simply a router.
Models like D Link 2750 and TP Link w8968 are modem+routers.

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies.
3) TP-LINK TL-WR740N is simply a router.
Models like D Link 2750 and TP Link w8968 are modem+routers.
Yes, AFAIK the TP-LINK TL-WR740N and TP-LINK TL-WR841N are just routers, I need to know about the difference between 150mbps and 300mbps :)

Which is your ISP ?
BSNL

Edit:
I purchased TP LINK 8968..with usb and 2 x 5 dBi.