Camera Budget flashgun discussion

Aces170

ex-Mod
Ok, so next on my wish list is a budget flash gun something in the range of 10-12k. Ofcourse I am not gonna purchase for another 2 months but let the discussion role. What options do I have?

I had initially shortlisted Nissin Di622 markII its a pretty powerful flash for 12k..

I am thinking of getting a couple of Yongnuo 467's with RF603 triggers. Dirt cheap so will be a inexpensive way of experimenting before moving on the expensive equipment

I am thinking of getting a couple of Yongnuo 467's with RF603 triggers.

Appo am a complete newbie on strobist techniques. What is the price of the above equipment, and how does the RF trigger work, are they camera body dependent (mine does not have wireless flash support).

Aces170 said:
Appo am a complete newbie on strobist techniques. What is the price of the above equipment, and how does the RF trigger work, are they camera body dependent (mine does not have wireless flash support).
Me too a complete noob but there are quite a few pro's in our group. So learning a bit from them.
The two flashes + the triggers are ~10k and I've seen plenty of people with 1000D's using this same combo so I think it works just fine.
You can order these from ebay, quite a few sellers have them in stock.
Another wireless trigger system that Joe recommends for beginners is the Cactus v5, check that out too.

A bump for this thread. What are the budget flashgun options for a Canon 550D? The Yongnuo 468 retails at around 4.5k on ebay UK.

well i would go for these :

1 yongnuo 468

1 yongnuo 560

cactus V5 triggers

and add to that 1 TTL sync cord.

1) You'll always want the comfort of TTL, so 1 yn-468 it is.

2) if you want to use 2 lights, then it has to be manual for the 2nd one so the YN 560 for the extra power.